Monitoring group to assess the implementation of the Transport Safety Strategy

Ministry of Transport and Communications
Publication date 22.8.2022 11.00
Press release
The Traffic Safety Strategy includes all modes of Transport. (Image: LVM)
The Traffic Safety Strategy includes all modes of Transport. (Image: LVM)

The Ministry of Transport and Communications has appointed a monitoring group for the Transport Safety Strategy. It is tasked with monitoring the Strategy's implementation and effects. The term of the group is from 1 September 2022 to 31 December 2026.

The group will monitor the implementation of the measures in the Strategy and assess its impacts. One task of the group is to organise, under the leadership of the Ministry of Transport and Communications, the annual Transport Safety Forum, to which representatives from various administrative branches and stakeholder groups are invited.  

"A broad range of stakeholders was involved in preparing the Transport Safety Strategy. Now the process has reached its most significant stage, the implementation. It is especially important that everyone is involved in the implementation phase too, because transport safety affects the everyday lives of us all", says Minister of Transport and Communications Timo Harakka.

Transport Safety Strategy includes 103 measures

In March 2022, in its resolution on the Transport Safety Strategy the Government outlined measures with the aim of improving transport safety and preventing traffic accidents. A requirement to set up a group to monitor the implementation of the measures is included in the Strategy.

The Action Plan for the Strategy contains a total of 103 measures for improving transport safety across several sectors from traffic control to health care and education. The initiation, progress and coordination of each measure is the responsibility of the body appointed for the task.

Close cooperation

The chair of the monitoring group is Laura Eiro, Director General, and the vice-chair is Maija Ahokas, Director of Unit, at the Ministry of Transport and Communications. 

The group has representatives from the Ministry of the Interior, the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, the Transport and Communications Agency Traficom, the Finnish Infrastructure Agency, the National Police Board, the Finnish National Agency for Education, the Finnish Crash Data Institute, the Statistics Finland, the Centres for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment of Uusimaa and Lapland, the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare, the Central Organization for Traffic Safety in Finland and the Finnish Wildlife Agency. In addition, the cities of Helsinki, Tampere, Lappeenranta and Oulu as well as the Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities, ITS Finland ry, the Finnish Lifeboat Institution, the Finnish Aeronautical Association, Suomen Purjehdus and Veneily (Finnish sailing and boating association) and the Finnish Association of People with Mobility Disabilities are represented.

The Strategy will be implemented and monitored in close cooperation with the stakeholders.


Maija Ahokas, Director of Unit, tel. +358 50 535 6178, [email protected], Twitter: @mmaija

Sofia Johansson, Senior Officer, tel. +358 50573 7908, [email protected]

Konsta Arvelin, Senior Specialist, tel. +358 50 410 3884, [email protected]