Signed declaration of intent for the creation of the North European Functional Airspace Block (NEFAB)

Ministry of Transport and Communications
Publication date 19.9.2011 15.03
Press release

On 30 August 2011 the Transport Ministers of Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Norway gave a strong statement of their willingness and commitment to continue the process leading to the establishment of the North European Functional Airspace Block (NEFAB). By signing the joint declaration of intent, the service providers and national supervisory authorities are urged to expedite their collective efforts to establish cooperation arrangements delivering the expected benefits for airspace users and putting the States in a position to declare the Functional Airspace Block at the latest in the second half of 2012.

In their joint statement, the Ministers highlighted the importance of establishing multi-national cooperation in a response to the challenges of the Single European Sky initiative of the European Union and as a necessary initiative for achieving the expected performance improvements within Air Traffic Management in Northern Europe. The Feasibility Study for NEFAB confirms and highlights the potential for significant positive effects related to airspace, service provision, support functions as well as systems. Considerable improvements can and should be achieved through the optimisation of airspace, but also as a result of enhanced cooperation between air navigation service providers.

According to the Feasibility Study the calculated benefits are expected to reach at least 340 million euros calculated as net present value for the period 2012-2025 in the maximum scenario. The air navigation service providers should be ambitious in response to the expectations of airspace users and the performance scheme of the Single European Sky.

Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Norway express their strong willingness and commitment for a continued cooperation with neighbouring States at the level of ministries, national supervisory authorities and air navigation service providers, enhancing the development of functionality of airspace.

Ms Silja Ruokola, Director of Transport Services Unit, tel + 358 40 580 0894
Ms Maija Ahokas, Ministerial Counsellor, tel +358 400 316 178