New no-fly zones to Helsinki and Naantali

Ministry of Transport and Communications
Publication date 21.5.2015 13.25
Press release

The Finnish Government has designated four new areas where aircraft are not allowed to fly: Kruununhaka, Meilahti and Munkkiniemi in Helsinki and Luonnonmaa in Naantali. A Government decree on the prohibited areas will enter into force on 28 May 2015.

Flying above these areas will be prohibited due to their importance for management of government affairs. The new areas extend up to around 150 metres above ground or sea level.

In addition to flight operations, unmanned aviation and unmanned aerial vehicles will also be prohibited in the areas. However, the prohibition will not be absolute as the Finnish Transport Safety Agency may, for special reasons, grant a permission to fly within the area.

The current prohibition concerning areas in Loviisa, Olkiluoto and Kilpilahti will remain in force.

Maija Ahokas, Senior Government Adviser, tel. +358 295 34 2390