Total of 21 companies show interest in digital television licences

Ministry of Transport and Communications
Publication date 3.5.2006 11.28
Press release
The availability of channel space in the digital TV network has attracted interest among the operators in the field. A total of 21 companies submitted an application for a digital programme licence to the Ministry of Transport and Communications of Finland. The deadline for the applications was 2 May.

The following companies applied for a licence:
Archtecho Oy
Blue Media Oy
Citizen TV Oy
C More Entertainment Finland Oy
Etelä-Pohjanmaan Viestintä Oy
Eurosport SA
MTV Networks Europe / Nickelodeon International Ltd
National Geographic Channel
NonStop Television AB
Q-TV Productions Oy
Suomen urheilutelevisio Oy
SWelcom Oy
The Walt Disney Company Limited
Turner Entertainment Networks International Limited
TV 5 Finland Oy
Vaasan läänin Puhelin Oy
Oy Viasat Finland Ab
Vizor Oy

Some of the companies applied for a licence for several channels, some applied for an extension of their current licence. The aim is that the new channels will start on 1 September 2007.

There will be capacity for new digital channels in one multiplex, which is already in use, the so-called third multiplex, as well as in a new one, the fifth multiplex. The new fifth multiplex is also intended to be used for the transmission of two Swedish television (SVT) channels. Licences for these will be open for application at a later date.

Two companies applying for a network licence for the fifth multiplex

Two companies submitted an application to the Ministry for a digital broadcasting network operating licence, namely Digita Oy and Vaasan Läänin Puhelin Oy. The deadline for these applications was also 2 May.

For further information please contact:
Mr Ismo Kosonen, Director of Media Policy Unit, tel. +358 9 160 28462, +358 50 511 6601/programme licences
Mr Antti Kohtala, Director of Unit for Networks and Competition, tel. +358 9 160 28392, +358 500 812 505/network operating licence