Members of the parliamentary working group to assess the future of the transport network

Ministry of Transport and Communications
Publication date 24.2.2017 13.23
Press release

On 8 February 2017, the Finnish Ministry of Transport and Communications appointed a parliamentary working group to define the means necessary for maintaining and developing the Finnish transport network. The members of the working group have been nominated. All the political parties represented in Parliament have representatives in the working group.

The aim of the parliamentary working group is to draw up a cost-effective, long-term and appropriate plan to develop and finance the transport network. The working group will also consider how to meet the emissions reduction targets defined in the National Climate Policy for the transport sector and create conditions for transport automatisation and a digital service growth environment for transport.

The group was appointed by Minister of Transport and Communications Anne Berner.


Members of Parliament Mirja Vehkaperä and Markku Rossi, Centre Party

Members of Parliament Jukka Kopra and Markku Eestilä, National Coalition Party

Members of Parliament Ari Jalonen and Jari Ronkainen, Finns Party

Members of Parliament Krista Kiuru and Harry Wallin, Social Democratic Party

Member of Parliament Mats Nylund (deputy Member of Parliament Mats Löfström), Swedish People's Party

Member of Parliament Peter Östman (deputy Member of Parliament Antero Laukkanen), Christian Democrats

Member of Parliament Kari Uotila (deputy Member of Parliament Katja Hänninen), Left Alliance

Member of Parliament Olli-Poika Parviainen (deputy Member of Parliament Jyrki Kasvi), Green League

Permanent experts to the working group are Juhapekka Ristola, Director-General at the Ministry of Transport and Communications, Hannu Mäkinen, Budget Director at the Ministry of Finance, and Johanna Osenius, Ministerial Adviser at the Ministry of Transport and Communications. Mikael Nyberg, Director-General at the Ministry of Transport and Communications, will act as Secretary General to the group.

The working group can also appoint sub-working groups and consult experts.

The term of the working group is from 28 February 2017 to 28 February 2018. The working group is scheduled to submit an interim report on proposals concerning emission reductions on 18 August 2017.


Director-General Mikael Nyberg, tel. +358 295 34 2474