Advisory Board for Saimaa Canal appointed

Ministry of Transport and Communications
Publication date 21.6.2012 10.00
Press release

The Ministry of Transport and Communications is establishing an advisory board for developing traffic in the Saimaa Canal and the Saimaa region. The term of the advisory board will start on 1 July 2012 and end on 16 February 2017.

The task of the advisory board is to give opinions on the traffic in the Saimaa Canal and the Saimaa region and to assist the Canal Delegate in development work.

The board comprises representatives of various authorities and businesses in the Saimaa region. Mr Harri Pursiainen, Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Transport and Communications and the Canal Delegate, acts as the chair and Mr Mikael Nyberg, Director of the Transport Strategy Unit from the same ministry, as the deputy chair of the advisory board.

The members of the advisory board are as follows:

Ms Satu Aronen, Logistics Manager, Andritz Oy
Mr Oscar v. Hertzen, Senior Partner, Oy Finnshipping Ltd.
Mr Timo Hirvonen, Material Manager, Nordkalk Oy Ab
Mr Seppo Karvinen, Lawyer, Kuopio Chamber of Commerce
Mr Kimmo Kuukka, Head of Department, Oy Intercarriers Ltd.
Ms Kirsi Laine, Managing Director, Saimaan Matkaverkko Oy
Mr Kari Leinonen, Managing Director, South Savo Chamber of Commerce (with Mr Esko Pitkänen from the South Savo Chamber of Commerce as deputy)
Mr Jari Leppänen, SCM Director, Vapo Oy
Mr Kari Lundell, Senior Vice President, Logistics, Metsä Group
Mr Auvo Muraja, Director, Development, Oy Saimaa Terminals Ab
Mr Markku Mylly, Chairman of the Board, Finnish Waterway Association
Ms Anna Näsi, Shipping Manager, Yara Suomi Oy
Mr Pekka Ovaska, Transport Expert, Finnish Transport Agency
Mr Matti Pajula, Managing Director, Finnpilot Pilotage Ltd
Mr Mika Peltonen, Managing Director, South Karelia Chamber of Commerce
Mr Markku Pennanen, Managing Director, Joensuun Laivaus
Mr Matti Purhonen, Managing Director, Järvi-Suomen Uittoyhdistys ja Perkaus Oy
Mr Tuomas Routa, Director General, Finnish Transport Safety Agency Trafi
Mr Ilkka Salonen, Senior Adviser, Ministry of Employment and the Economy
Mr Henrik Sjölund, Chairman of the Board, Oy Helsinki Chartering Ab
Mr Olavi Tyrsky, Managing Director, Mopro Oy
Mr Antti Vehviläinen, Vice President, Logistics, Stora Enso
Ms Marjo Wallenius, Regional Planning and Land Use Manager, Regional Council of South Karelia
Ms Juha Willberg, Chair, Saimaa Ports (until the end of 2012; with Mr Hannu Lappalainen, Port Director, City of Lappeenranta, as deputy)

The members of the Saimaa Canal Commission also serve in the advisory board.

Further information

Mr Seppo Kykkänen, Head of Office, tel. +358 40 015 2868